Knot Perfect Bracelet

Picture 5Remember those hemp friendship bracelets everyone had in middle school? Well, it appears the trend has matured as we have. The familiar square knot design was featured in an article in Women’s Wear Daily with diamond encrusted beads and gold and silver details, going for a significant chunk of change. However, after some experimentation, I discovered that there is an eco-friendly (and much cheaper) way to get the same awesome bling. Using bamboo cord (bamboo grows back super quickly, therefore boosting its eco cred) and some beads, I made one bracelet, then another, and another, until I had made enough to give to my friends as Christmas presents.

This project is probably the most difficult of the projects I’ve posted, but once you get the hang of it, you can make these bracelets really quickly. I promise it is worth the time and effort. If you don’t get the hang of it after reviewing the instructions, comment on my post, and I’ll answer any questions you might have!

Materials:
1) Bamboo Cord- Eco friendly and comes in tons of colors!
2) Beads- whatever tickles your fancy
3) Fray Check- One of my favorite inventions of all time
4) Scissors
5) Ruler

Instructions: http://www.flickr.com/photos/86405222@N02/8377916181/in/set-72157632517660866/

Leave a Reply

